The Voltigeurs return to the Manège Militaire

Armoury.jpg
Photo: Wikimedia Commons - Public Domain

The historic Quebec City Armoury, or Manège militaire, built between 1885 and 1888, and destroyed by fire in April 2008, has risen from the ashes and will reopen on May 12.

The Fondation Les Voltigeurs (9e Bataillon), proudly announce that on May 12, the Régiment Les Voltigeurs de Québec will return to their Manège militaire (armoury) that was destroyed by fire on the evening of April 4, 2008.

To commemorate the reopening of the historic building, the regiment invites the public to attend three activities on May 12:

11 a.m. - Parade through the streets of Quebec City from Notre-Dame Basilica along Rues Sainte-Famille, de Buade, des Jardins, Sainte-Anne, d’Auteuil, Saint-Louis and Grande Allée Est to Place George-V, in front of the restored armoury.
11:15 a.m. - Prise d’armes (commissioning ceremony) at the Manège militaire.

2 p.m. - Unveiling of a new site behind the armoury dedicated to cannons captured during the First World War.

Take this opportunity to visit the new Manège militaire, a jewel of Quebec City’s heritage, and discover a rejuvenated, modern and functional building rebuilt by the Government of Canada.

The Voltigeurs de Québec is the proud successor of Quebec’s Royal Rifles of Canada. On April 6, 2008, an article entitled “Royal Rifles of Canada heritage lost in Armoury Fire” was published in the Quebec Chronicle-Telegraph. With the return of the Voltigeurs to the armoury, the Royal Rifles’ legacy is now preserved.