June 24 2015 Edition

News Digest June 24 2015



Issue June 24, 2015


St. Patrick’s 2015 graduates advised to “seize the day”

st pats grads use.JPG
Photo: Philippa Jabouin

Friday, June 19, marked the last official day of secondary education for 92 St. Patrick’s High School graduates. The green-and-white themed ceremony was held at the Palais Montcalm, where family, friends, parents, teachers and school officials gathered to recognize and applaud the students’ efforts over the last five years. 

Stuart Wright retiring after 65 years in practice

retiring guy.jpg
Photo: Shirley Nadeau

Stuart Wright, long-time resident of Quebec City and a well-known notary with the firm of Côté Taschereau Samson Demers for a good many years, is retiring at the end of June 2015 after practising his profession for 65 years. 

DDO math student scores high

math student.jpg
Photo: Valérie Lebel

Here, in a few numbers, is a look at the World Championship of Math and Logic Games, given by the Association québécoise des Jeux mathématiques (AQJM): 

-18,804 participants in the quarter-final 

-3,100 participants in the semi-final

-634 participants in the final

-64 invited to the awards ceremony 

David Mendel launches the Cathedral guide book

book sign guy.jpg
Photo: Cassandra Kerwin

David Mendel, president of Mendel Tours, architectural historian and renowned speaker, recently launched Cathedral of the Holy Trinity, the latest in his series of Mendel Guides. 

Memorials and Things of Fame


The Morning Chronicle

The story behind Rue Flynn

Photo: Bill Cox

Rue Flynn was named in honour of Edmund James Flynn (1847-1927). Born in Percé, of Irish and British descent, he would become a lawyer, professor, politician and judge.

The Discovery Pavilion now the Plains of Abraham Museum

Quebec Community Groups Network celebrates 20th anniversary

St. Patrick’s High School graduation awards

Governor General's Academic Medal (Class of 2014):  Monica Stumpf

Lieutenant Governor Certificate: Eina Roy & Mathieu Richard

Walter Munro Trophy and Award: Mélissa Lemelin

Fred Côté Leadership Scholarship: Jean-Simon Dallaire

Bruce Phillips Memorial Bursary: Brandon Robitaille

Syndicate content